Tuesday, August 10, 2010


Powerhouse Doña Carmen Denia National High School (DCDNHS) bagged the high school boys title in the 1st JVR Inter-School Chess Team Championships held at Emcor conference room, J.P. Laurel Avenue over the weekend. DCDNHS's one-two punch consisting of 2008 ASEAN 12 and under champ John Ray Batucan and 2010 ASEAN 14 and under champ Austin Jacob Literatus delivered the points for their school as expected.

Batucan scored a perfect 10 points while Literatus tallied 9.5 points as DCDNHS garnered the highest score of 19.5 points at the end of the 11 rounds tourney.University of Mindanao's Alvin Acas and Denzel Amar, who lost to the Batucan Literatus pair in the final round, took the runner-up honors with 16 points while the Cabantian National High School placed third with 14 points.

Meanwhile, The Holy Cross of Davao College (HCDC) captured the men's crown by scoring 16 points in the five-round collegiate division. HCDC bested UM and JMC which finished with identical 14 points. University of Mindanao (UM) clinched the women's title by scoring 16 points over HCDC's 13.5 points. HCDC's Mohammad Sacar and Erwin Tubog Jr., along with JMC's Jay Bulicatin, earned 4.5 points apiece while UM's May Micayabas, JMC's Mary Rose Sevilla and UM's Noelyn Enriquez made perfect five points each.

In high school girls, Jose Maria College (JMC) and DCDNHS each tallied 15 points after nine rounds to place first and second, respectively. Davao Central College of Toril got 14 points for third while CNHS had 12 and good for fourth place.

Doña Pilar Learning Center (DPLC)-Sasa and Don Juan dela Cruz Central Elementary School (DJDCCES)-Toril, meanwhile, shared top honors in the elementary division.

DPLC ruled the boys team event with 17.5 points followed by DJDCCES (15) and JMC (14.5) after 11 rounds, while DPLC (11.5) topped the girls side with 15.5 points while DPLC (11.5) was second and Barner Learning Center (10) in third after nine rounds.

The awarding of prizes is on August 14, 2010 on the same venue. The tournament was organized in celebration of Emcor's 52nd anniversary and held in cooperation with HCDC. Chief Arbiter of the successful tourney is veteran NM Prospero " Bebot " Cruz.

No comments:

Post a Comment